Scraps, glitter and glue

Reduce, reuse, recycle. I walk, carpool or take the bus, I ask for paper not plastic (then keep the brown bags in my closet to be used as padding in gift wrap and a myriad of other things – I recycle everything I can.IMG_3540_edited

Those are the conventional ideas of what the three Rs are referencing in being better stewards of the environment. But with the rise of Pinterest and a humankind love of craft going back to the beginning of time, art can easily find a place in the “reduce, reuse, recycle” mantra.

I thought my inaugural DIY post would be a well planned step by step guide to creating something specific clear goal and carefully chosen materials. Instead, it became a spur of the moment afternoon craft with my sister that has the special ingredient of unpretentious messiness.

IMG_3539_edited

If I lied and said I used Mod Podge or literally any glue that isn’t fabric glue, no one would be any the wiser. But here’s the deal – I used fabric glue. Fabric glue mixed with a bit of Martha Stewart glitter paint left over from my wedding in 2012. It’s what I had on hand and it does the job. In fact, my sister was in love with glittering everything she glued down.

IMG_3552

IMG_3542_edited

For well over a decade now I have been a big fan of mail-order catalogs. While not as eco-friendly as their modern digital counterparts, I’ve been collecting and cutting up and re-purposing the publications for years. I still save any I receive, though I don’t religiously track them down like I once did. I will however pull out any I see tossed into the trash in the community mail room. And I will always grab copies of the San Antonio Current on Wednesday, and Edible San Antonio when making a trip to Whole Foods.

Between the scraps of old catalogs, brochures, take out menus and graduation invites as well as the fabric glue/glitter paint re-purposing in lieu of purchasing new materials, my sister and I ended up with some lovely boxes that embodied the spirit of reduce, reuse, recycle in a functional and aesthetic way.

If you don’t have glue at home already, by all means go for Mod Podge or craft glue when given a choice. But don’t be afraid to experiment with what you have. I’m pretty in love with the raw serendipity in our results.

One thought on “Scraps, glitter and glue

Leave a Reply

